Driving on a Suspended License in Clarksville, TN

Attorneys helping with your loss of license

While not carrying the same menace as a jail sentence, a license suspension can be nearly as disruptive and damaging to your life. Losing your license severely curtails your freedom, makes it difficult to work and places an added burden upon your family. While it may seem worth the risk to continue driving and hope you do not get caught, this will only compound what is already a bad situation. If you live in Tennessee or Kentucky and are dealing with a period of license revocation or have been charged with driving on a suspended license, our Clarksville attorneys at the Kennedy Law Firm, PLLC may fight the charges or help you obtain a restricted license or reinstatement.

When can a license be suspended?

Driving is a privilege, and there are many reasons a person's license may be revoked. In Tennessee, numerous crimes and traffic offenses can lead to a temporary or permanent revocation of your license:

  • DUI
  • Refusing to submit to BAC testing
  • Vehicular homicide
  • Underage alcohol or drug possession
  • Vehicular assault
  • Driving without insurance
  • Receiving 12 traffic points in one year
  • Failing to pay traffic citations

Revocation periods range from six to 12 months for traffic violations to 10 years for vehicular homicide. Our attorneys can advise you of your options for contesting an administrative revocation and about the availability and limitations of a restricted license under your particular circumstances.

Penalties for driving on a suspended license

Driving on a suspended license in Tennessee is a Class B misdemeanor carrying a sentence of up to six months in jail and/or a $500 fine. If the suspension were for a serious crime, such as vehicular assault or homicide, the penalties may be increased. Likewise, repeat offenses elevate the crime to a Class A misdemeanor carrying a penalty of up to one year in jail and/or a $2,500 fine. Violating the conditions of a restricted license or refusing to abide by an ignition interlock requirement is similarly punished.

Getting your license reinstated

Some people who have had their licenses revoked can qualify for a restricted license after a certain period of time. This allows the holder to drive to school or work and to undergo required drug or alcohol treatment. Restricted licenses are available for suspensions due to first and second offense DUIs, implied consent violations, frequent traffic violations and excessive points, failure to carry insurance, and drug and alcohol suspensions for youths. To have your license reinstated, you must apply and pay the fees for a new license, provide proof of financial responsibility and pay reinstatement fees and other expenses.

Contact us for help restoring your driving privileges

A driver's license suspension in Tennessee or Kentucky is a huge burden for just about anyone. Whether you recently received a notice of proposed suspension, have been charged or convicted of DUI or other traffic crimes, or are interested in obtaining a restricted license or having your license reinstated, our attorneys at the Kennedy Law Firm, PLLC can help you understand your rights and guide you through the process. Call today at 931-444-5620 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation at one of our three Clarksville locations.